Skip to Content

CAR bags crown in contact sports

Lingayen, Pangasinan – despite the sweltering heat, athletes of the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) battled it out through the competition in the Palarong Pambansa 2012 here.

CAR’s secondary Boys Arnis Team was crowned the over-all champion in their category besting 16 other regions during the closing of the Arnis competitions at the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center May 11.

The secondary girls also were crowned 1st runner up in Arnis- Anyo Team event.

Ezaria Yalong grabbed the only gold for CAR during competitions in Arnis-Labanan which brings CAR’s total in Arnis 1 gold, 15 silvers and 11 bronze medals.

Meanwhile, in Taekwondo, CAR’s secondary division Angelina Goyce Gaw, Tristan Dale Cayago and John Gervin Astrologio grabbed gold each in Individual poomsae while in the elementary division, Krizelle Therese Yadao, Eiron Biscocho and Luigi Paolo Wong all settled for bronze each.

For group poomsae event, Luigi Paolo Wong, Clyde Duday, Eiron Biscocho (elementary boys division), Angelina Joyce Gaw, Phoebi Kate De Guzman, Leslie Agyamoc (secondary girls division), Tristan Dale Cayago, Christian Duntugan and Cromwell King Quiambao (secondary boys division) won gold each while Krizelle Therese Yadao, Josephine Pistola and Mary Ceniza Quiambao settled for silver.

For Taekwondo sparring event, Luigi Paolo Wong won another gold, Mary Ceniza Quiambao (silver) and Charles Andrie Duguiawe, Josephine Pistola, Ezra Sagaoc, Kristian Mamitag all settled for bronze each.

Meantime, CAR’s Jasmin Felix grabbed gold in secondary girls 100 meter hurdles in Athletics giving hope for the region’s improvement in the total medal count.

This was also followed by a gold from secondary boys Raegan Contic in Discus Throw and silver from Arnold Galap for 5000 meter run for secondary boys.

For medal tally count (elementary and secondary division) , the National Capital Region (NCR) remained the team to beat trailed behind by Western Visayas, Southern Tagalog, Central Visayas, Northern Mindanao, Central Luzon, Cotabato, CAR, ARMM, Mindoro/Marinduque, Cagayan Valley, Davao, Bicol, Ilocos, Eastern Visayas and CARAGA. ***paul rillorta

Site Map

Philippine Government Transparency Seal

Baguio Website beta

To visit the new Baguio Official Website (beta)

Please click this link